Create a customer or vendor in a transaction
Introduction
Process description
When creating a transaction, you may realize that the customer or vendor that you are creating the transaction for does not exist yet. Without disrupting your workflow, you have the ability to create a customer or vendor on the spot, rather than having to go to the customer or vendor module to create one.
Step-by-step instructions:
-
Step 1: Create a transaction
Note that you will not be able to create new customers or vendors in the receive payment or make payment modules.
-
Step 2: Create a new customer or vendor


-
Step 3: Fill out new customer/ vendor information
A customer/ vendor must have a code before you click accept otherwise it cannot be created.

-
Step 4: Add more details
If you want to have access to all of the information you can attach to a customer or vendor, such as notes and attachments and the associations tab, you can click add more details to bring you to the full reference module. This allows to you create a customer/vendor as normal, but it will already have any attributes you have already filled out in the transaction module.
-
Step 5: Save and select your new customer/vendor
After finalizing your customer or vendor and clicking activate, you can navigate back to your transaction as usual. Your customer or vendor will have been saved and activated and will automatically be selected for your transaction. You can also check your drop-down menu to see your newly activated customer or vendor in the list.
Toasters, notifications and warnings
-
Creating a customer/vendor without a code
If you click accept on your newly created customer or vendor and it is missing a code, you will receive a toaster informing you that the company could not be created and you will be taken to that company module to finish setting up your customer or vendor manually from the corresponding module.

-
Creating a customer/ vendor with a mandatory attribute
Similar to creating a company without a code, if you try to create a customer or vendor without filling in a mandatory attribute, you will be redirected to the corresponding reference module to fill out the necessary attributes. Any reference information you already filled out in the transaction module will be transferred over.
-
Leaving a customer/vendor in edit mode
If you try to create a new customer or vendor within a transaction, but that customer or vendor is currently being edited in the reference module, a notification will appear informing you that you already have a customer or vendor being edited. Simply click the cancel or save button to take your customer/ vendor out of edit mode and you can create a new one as needed.
This is an example of the toaster that will appear if either the customer or vendor is being edited.

Related articles



